Belize is a country located on the eastern coast of Central America. It is bordered on the northwest by Mexico, on the east by the Caribbean Sea, and on the south and west by Guatemala. Its capital city is Belmopan, and the largest city is Belize City. It is highly known for its extensive barrier reef coral and music.

The country is also recognized by its diverse society and rich history. It is composed of many cultures, thus there are more than eight recognized languages within the country; including Mayan languages. English is the official language, and Spanish is the second most common spoken language. Over half of the population is multilingual.

The Mayan civilization spread into the area of Belize before Spaniards settled down. European exploration campaigns began in 1502 when Christopher Columbus sailed along the Gulf. Since 1638, Spain and Britain were laying claim to the land until Britain defeated the Spanish in the Battle of St. George's Caye in 1798. Belize became a British colony in 1840, and its independence was achieved on 21 September 1981.

It is considered a Central American and Caribbean nation with strong ties to both the American and Caribbean regions. Belize is a Commonwealth realm, with Queen Elizabeth II as its monarch and head of state.

In MedalBook, the country is organized by Orders, Medals & Decorations, and Badges & Insignia.


"NATIONAL HONOURS AND AWARDS ACT CHAPTER 162" (PDF). THE SUBSTANTIVE LAWS OF BELIZE REVISED EDITION 2000. Government Printer. Archived from the original (PDF) on 6 February 2012. Retrieved 3 December 2011.

3 results found

Filter By

Scroll Top